Lookup Public Records in Richland CountyNorth Dakota. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Richland County, North Dakota Overview

Richland County is located in the U.S. state of North Dakota. The county was formed in 1873 and named after Morgan T. Rich, early settler. The county seat is Wahpeton. According to the U.S. Census Bureau of 2016, the county has a population of approximately 16,353 people. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,445 square miles of which 1,436 square miles is land and 9.7 square miles is water. Richland County borders the following counties: Cass County to the north; Wilkin County, Minnesota to the east; Traverse County, Minnesota to the southeast; Roberts County, South Dakota to the south; Sargent County to the west and Ransom County to the west.Richland County has 17 zip codes. The zip codes are 58001, 58008, 58015, 58018, 58030, 58041, 58047, 58051, 58052, 58053, 58058, 58057, 58061, 58075, 58076, 58077 and 58081. The most populated zip code is 58075.

Richland County Recorder’s Office Information

The Richland County Recorder’s Office is also called as the “Land Records Office.” The mission of the Recorder’s Office is to maintain a permanent record of all documents, provide and maintain a permanent database for property records search, and to provide quality service and information to the customers. This office is responsible for the following:

  • Recording various types of documents that affect title to real property in Richland County, North Dakota. Documents include: deeds, mortgages, assignments of mortgage, satisfactions of mortgage, contracts of deed, easements, affidavits, wills, surveys, plats, military discharges, etc.
  • Recording/filing power of attorneys
  • Filing wills for safekeeping
  • Filing corner monument records
  • Filing burial permits
  • Providing family history search assistance to the public.
  • Performing name, property and marriage searches and providing copies if requested.

Most county documents such as real estate records can be accessed via the North Dakota Recorder’s Information Network or NDRIN website. For further information on North Dakota Recorder’s Information Network, visit

For further information regarding birth certificate request/application form and fees, visit the following link:

For additional information regarding death certificate request/application form and fees, visit the following link:

The physical address of Richland County Recorder’s Office is:

418 2nd Avenue North
Wahpeton, ND 58075
Email: ckolle@co.richland.nd.us
Phone: (701) 642-7800
Fax: (701) 642-7820
Office Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Cyndy J. Kolle is the County Recorder of Richland County. She can be contacted at (701) 642-7800 or emailed at ckolle@co.richland.nd.us

Richland County Recorder’s Office
Phone: 701-642-7800

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *