Lookup Public Records in Barnes CountyNorth Dakota. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Barnes County, North Dakota Overview

Barnes County is located in the U.S. state of North Dakota. The county was formed in 1875 and named after Judge Alanson H. Barnes (1818–1890), who was an associate justice of the Territorial Court. The county seat is Valley City. According to the U.S. Census Bureau of 2018, the county has a population of approximately 11,066 people. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,513 square miles, of which 1,492 square miles is land and 22 square miles is water. Barnes County borders the following counties: Griggs County to the north; Steele County to the northeast; Cass County to the east; Ransom County to the southeast; LaMoure County to the southwest; and Stutsman County to the west. Barnes County has 19 zip codes. The zip codes are 58429, 58027, 58031, 58046, 58049, 58461, 58056, 58466, 58062, 58063, 58064, 58065, 58479, 58480, 58481, 58071, 58072, 58492, and 58497. The most populated zip code is 58072.

Barnes County Clerk of District Courts Office Information

The Clerk of District Court coordinates all Court hearings and is the custodian of all records in the following areas:


  • Property damage
  • Personal injury
  • Malpractice
  • Divorce
  • Custody
  • Adoption
  • Paternity
  • Termination of parental rights
  • Appeals
  • Contract collections
  • Quiet title
  • Condemnations
  • Eviction
  • Foreclosures
  • Change of name
  • Trusts
  • Judgments
  • Conservatorships
  • Guardianships
  • Formal and informal probate
  • Heirships
  • Protection and restraining orders
  • Mental health
  • Child support
  • Juvenile
  • Small claims


  • Felony
  • Misdemeanor
  • Infractions
  • Administrative
  • Traffic tickets
  • Criminal records searches
  • Monitor all restitution, fines, costs, fees, and attorney fees owed by the defendants.

The physical address of the Barnes County Clerk of District Courts Office is:

3rd Floor Barnes County Court House
Room 303
Valley City, ND 58072
Phone: 701-845-8512
Office Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Barnes County Recorder’s Office Information

The Office of the County Recorder is responsible for recording and processing all legal documents related to real estate. These documents include deeds, mortgages, assignments, satisfactions, liens, leases, plats, letters testamentary, patents, easements, and other related documents. The County Recorder acts as the custodian of vital records of the county. Additionally, the Recorder’s office also issues Passports, handles county marriage licenses and can perform marriage ceremonies. This office also files all underground installation cards. North Dakota land survey monument records are filed in each individual county. A document presented for recording or filing must be sufficiently legible to reproduce a readable copy using the County Recorder’s of title’s current method of reproduction. All recordings are open to the public during normal business hours.

The filing fee schedule of the County Recorder’s Office can be found in the link below:

To pay taxes online, click the link below:

To inquire about property tax records of Barnes County, visit the link below:

Barnes County Recorder’s Office Website:

The physical address of the Barnes County Recorder’s Office is:

Room 201,
230 4th St NW
Valley City, ND 58072
Phone: 701-845-8506
Fax: 701-845-8538
Office Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Jody Pfaff is the Recorder of Barnes County. She can be contacted at 701-845-8506

Barnes County Recorder’s Office Staff:

Jodie Nelson, Admin Assistant

Barnes County Recorder’s Office
Phone: 701-845-8506

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *