Lookup Public Records in Taos CountyNew Mexico. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Taos County, New Mexico Overview

Taos County is located in the U.S. state of New Mexico. The county was formed in 1852 and named after for its county seat of Taos, New Mexico. The county seat is Taos. According to the U.S. Census Bureau of 2016, the county has a population of approximately 33,065 people. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,204 square miles of which 2,203 square miles is land and 1.3 square miles is water. Taos County borders the following counties: Rio Arriba County to the west; Mora County to the southeast; Colfax County to the east; Costilla County, Colorado to the north and Conejos County, Colorado to the northwest. Taos County has 21 zip codes. The zip codes are 87512, 87513, 87514, 87517, 87519, 87521, 87524, 87529, 87531, 87543, 87549, 87553, 87556, 87557, 87558, 87564, 87571, 87525, 87577, 87579 and 87580. The most populated zip code is 87571.

Taos County Assessor’s Office Information

The County Assessor is responsible for the valuation of all property subject to valuation for property taxation purposes in the county. The Assessor’s Office is responsible for locating and identifying all taxable properties in Taos County. The Assessor also determines the value of the property in accordance with New Mexico law. To search for property records within Taos County, visit the following link:

For further information regarding property search, visit the following link:

Taos County Assessor’s Office Website:

The physical address of the Taos County Assessor’s Office is:

105 Albright St., Suite A
Taos, NM 87571
Email: abel.montoya@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-6360
Fax: (575) 737-6379
Office Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Abel Montoya is the County Assessor of Taos County. He can be contacted at (575) 737-6360 or emailed at abel.montoya@taoscounty.org

Taos County Assessor’s Office Staffs:

Randy Baca
Email: randy.baca@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-6362

Anthony Mondragon
Email: anthony.mondragon@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-3875

Anthony Martinez
Email: anthony.martinez@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-6365

Cheryl Rascon
Email: cheryl.rascon@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-6361

Christina L. Ramirez
Email: christina.ramirez@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-3874

Cindy Fry
Email: cindy.fry@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-6397

Daniel Rael
Email: daniel.rael@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-6399

Don Rael
Email: don.rael@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-6373

Duella Romero
Email: duella.romero@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-6368

Elena Romero
Email: elena.romero@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-6371

Elizabeth Aguilar
Email: elizabeth.aguilar@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-3871

Jose Lujan
Email: jose.lujan@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-3876

Juan Cintas
Email: juan.cintas@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-6370

Maria Dimas
Email: maria.dimas@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-6374

Michael Mooney
Email: michael.mooney@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-6376

Michelle Valerio
Email: michelle.valerio@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-6367

Natalie Evans
Email: natalie.evans@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-6364

Nick Sanchez
Email: nick.sanchez@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-6366

Orlando Marquez
Email: orlando.marquez@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-3873

Patricia Baca
Email: patricia.baca@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-6393

Sasha Sanchez
Email: sasha.sanchez@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-6468

Veronica Lopez-Gonzales
Email: veronica.gonzales@taoscounty.org
Phone: (575) 737-3870

Taos County Clerk’s Office Information

The Taos County Clerk’s Office maintains all land titles and documents which are required by law to be recorded. The Clerk files and records documents that include real estate contracts, liens, release of liens, mortgages, deeds, power of attorney, plats and other miscellaneous documents. The Clerk also ensures that all the documents have original signatures and notarized prior to recording. The original documents are then returned after they are filed into permanent record. The County Clerk is required to attend all Board of Commission sessions to keep the seals, records and papers of the board. In addition, the County Clerk maintains records of the proceedings of the board; files all board resolutions and ordinances; records the vote of each Commissioner and; and signs all orders issued by the Board.

Other services include:

  • Issuing marriage license
  • Issuing business license
  • Issuing liquor license
  • Accepting lodger’s tax payments
  • Accepting and filing tort claims
  • Filing probates

    Right To Inspect Public Records:

    According to the Inspection of Public Records Act, NMSA 1978, Chapter 14, Article 2, every person has the right to inspect public records of Taos County. A person desiring to inspect public records may submit a request to the records custodian orally or in writing. A written request must contain the name, address and telephone number of the person making the request. A written request includes a request by facsimile or email. The request must describe the records sought in sufficient detail to enable the records custodian to identify and locate the requested records.

    The physical address of the Taos County Clerk’s Office is:

    105 Albright Street Suite D
    Taos, NM 87571
    Email: anna.martinez@taoscounty.org
    Phone: (575) 737-6380
    Fax: (575) 737-6390
    Office Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

    Anna Martinez is the County Clerk of Taos County. She can be contacted at (575) 737-6380 or emailed at anna.martinez@taoscounty.org

    Taos County Clerk’s Office Staffs:

    Valerie Montoya
    Email: valerie.montoya@taoscounty.org
    Phone: (575) 737-6387

    Patricia Blanks
    Email: patricia.blanks@taoscounty.org
    Phone: (575) 737-6386

    Blanca Lopez
    Email: blanca.lopez@taoscounty.org
    Phone: (575) 737-6383

    Diana Duran
    Email: diana.duran@taoscounty.org
    Phone: (575) 737-6384

    Dolores Lujan
    Email: dolores.lujan@taoscounty.org
    Phone: (575) 737-6385

    Tammy Sandoval
    Email: tammy.sandoval@taoscounty.org
    Phone: (575) 737-6389

    Taos, NM Genealogy and Ancestry Records
    Source: U.S. Census Bureau, USA Counties Data File Downloads
    Total Ancestries Reported 2005-200936,923
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - United States or American - 2005-2009381
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Arab - 2005-20092
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - British - 2005-200961
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Czech - 2005-2009147
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Danish - 2005-2009176
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Dutch - 2005-2009270
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - English - 2005-20093,078
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - European - 2005-2009250
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - French (except Basque) - 2005-20091,248
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - French Canadian - 2005-2009119
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - German - 2005-20093,302
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Greek - 2005-2009110
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Hungarian - 2005-2009318
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Irish - 2005-20092,535
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Italian - 2005-2009882
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Lithuanian - 2005-20090
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Norwegian - 2005-2009337
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Polish - 2005-2009168
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Portuguese - 2005-200910
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Russian - 2005-2009303
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Scotch-Irish - 2005-2009299
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Scottish - 2005-2009786
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Slovak - 2005-200910
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Subsaharan African - 2005-20091
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Swedish - 2005-2009306
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Swiss - 2005-2009159
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Ukrainian - 2005-200911
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Welsh - 2005-2009116
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - West Indian (excluding Hispanic groups) - 2005-200932
    Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Other Groups - 2005-200921,040

    Taos County Clerk’s Office

    Address: 105 Albright Rd Ste A, Taos, NM 87571, United States
    Phone: 575-737-6380

  • Please Share Your Review of This Office

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    *