Lookup Public Records in Otero CountyNew Mexico. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Otero County, New Mexico Overview

Otero County is located in the U.S. state of New Mexico. The county was formed in 1899 and named after Miguel A. Otero, the territorial delegate to U. S. Congress. The county seat is Alamogordo. According to the U.S. Census Bureau of 2016, the county has a population of approximately 65,410 people. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 6,628 square miles of which 6,613 square miles is land and 14 square miles is water. Otero County borders the following counties: Doña Ana County to the west; Sierra County to the northwest; Lincoln County to the north; Chaves County to the east; Eddy County to the east; Culberson County, Texas to the southeast; Hudspeth County, Texas to the south and El Paso County, Texas to the southwest. Otero County has 18zip code. The zip codes are 88310, 88311, 88314, 88081, 88317, 79837, 88325, 88330, 88337, 88339, 88340, 88342, 88344, 88347, 88349, 88350, 88352 and 88354. The most populated zip code is 88310.

Otero County Assessor’s Office Information

The primary responsibility of the Assessor’s Office is to discover, list, and value all real and personal property within Otero County. The Assessor also notifies all property owners of the value of their property in a timely manner. The Assessor is responsible to keep the Board of Commissioners informed of the total value of property within Otero County. The Assessor’s Office maintains property owner accounts with legal descriptions and values of each piece of property. These records are public and can be accessed online. To access Otero County Property Records online, visit the following link:

The physical address of the Otero County Assessor’s Office is:

1104 N. White Sands Blvd. Suite B
Alamogordo, New Mexico 88310
Email: sboyle@co.otero.nm.us
Phone: (575) 437-5310
Fax: (575) 443-2918
Office Hours: Monday – Friday, 7:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
(No financial transactions will be processed after 5:30 p.m.)

Steve Boyle is the County Assessor of Otero County. He can be contacted at (575) 437-5310 or emailed at sboyle@co.otero.nm.us

Otero County Assessor’s Office Staffs:

Estrada Gonzalo, Consultant
Email: gestrada@co.otero.nm.us

James Bowman, Apprentice Appraiser
Email: edorton@co.otero.nm.us

Eileen Dorton, Appraiser II
Email: edorton@co.otero.nm.us

Sheldon Compton, Appraiser IV
Email: scompton@co.otero.nm.us

Sam Duran, Chief Appraiser – IV
Email: sduran@co.otero.nm.us

Rosie Flores, Administrative Assistant
Email: r.flores@co.otero.nm.us

Ricardo Heredia, Appraiser II
Email: rheredia@co.otero.nm.us

Amber Veith, Deeds / Ownership Changes
Email: Aveith@co.otero.nm.us

Jean Branch, Administrative Assistant
Email: jlbranch@co.otero.nm.us

Leah Silva, Business & Personal Property
Email: lsilva@co.otero.nm.us

Mitzi Carroll, Mobile Home Department
Email: mcarroll@co.otero.nm.us

Priscilla Chavez, Agricultural Department
Email: pchavez@co.otero.nm.us

Brenda Garcia, GIS / Rural Addressor
Email: bgarcia@co.otero.nm.us

Steve Dutill, Steve Systems Analysis / GIS Supervisor
Email: oterogis1@co.otero.nm.us

Joseph Donahue, GIS / Mapping Technician
Email: jdonahue@co.otero.nm.us

Otero County Clerk’s Office Information

The County Clerk serves as the arm of the State with regard to the administration of the elections in the County. The County Clerk is responsible for recording, filing, and indexing duties as the repository for numerous documents. These documents include deeds, oil and gas leases, mortgages, etc. The County Clerk serves as the Ex-Officio Clerk for the Board of County Commissioners of their respective county and records all the minutes of all Commission meetings. The County Clerk also serves as the Clerk of the Probate Court and is the custodian of all Probate Court records. The County Clerk is responsible for the issuance of marriage licenses. Other statutory duties of the County Clerk include but not limited to those relating to the routine financial transactions of the County. All records maintained at the Otero County Clerk’s Office are public and can be accessed online. To access Otero County Documents Online, visit the following link:

To view the records, a written request is required. The Document Request Form should be completed and submitted to the Clerk’s Office. The Document Request Form can be found here:

You need to include your name, physical address, email, phone number, and details of the documents you want to inspect.

The physical address of the Otero County Clerk’s Office is:

1104 N White Sands Blvd, Ste C.
Alamogordo, NM 88310
Email: rholmes@co.otero.nm.us
Phone: (575) 437-4942
Fax: (575) 443-2922
Office Hours: Monday – Friday, 7:30 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
(No financial transactions will be processed after 5:30 p.m.)

Robyn Holmes is the County Clerk of Otero County. He can be contacted at (575) 437-4942 or emailed at rholmes@co.otero.nm.us

Otero County Clerk’s Office Staffs:

Denise Guerra, Chief Deputy Clerk
Email: dguerra@co.otero.nm.us

Lynn Estrada
Email: lestrada@co.otero.nm.us

Selina Maes
Email: smaes@co.otero.nm.us

Monique Maynez
Email: mmaynez@co.otero.nm.us

Deanna Montoya
Email: dmontoya@co.otero.nm.us

Kylee Kekahbah
Email: kkekahbah@co.otero.nm.us

Joshua Hayes
Email: jhayes@co.otero.nm.us

Otero, NM Genealogy and Ancestry Records
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, USA Counties Data File Downloads
Total Ancestries Reported 2005-200966,327
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - United States or American - 2005-20093,022
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Arab - 2005-2009112
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - British - 2005-2009378
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Czech - 2005-2009333
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Danish - 2005-2009118
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Dutch - 2005-2009798
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - English - 2005-20095,084
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - European - 2005-2009559
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - French (except Basque) - 2005-20091,305
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - French Canadian - 2005-2009217
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - German - 2005-20098,738
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Greek - 2005-200956
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Hungarian - 2005-2009109
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Irish - 2005-20094,701
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Italian - 2005-20091,577
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Lithuanian - 2005-200955
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Norwegian - 2005-2009598
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Polish - 2005-2009526
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Portuguese - 2005-2009137
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Russian - 2005-2009129
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Scotch-Irish - 2005-20091,660
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Scottish - 2005-20091,280
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Slovak - 2005-200912
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Subsaharan African - 2005-200966
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Swedish - 2005-2009758
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Swiss - 2005-200990
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Ukrainian - 2005-200916
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Welsh - 2005-2009486
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - West Indian (excluding Hispanic groups) - 2005-200937
Persons Reporting Total Ancestry As - Other Groups - 2005-200932,806

Otero County Clerk’s Office
County Government Office

Address: 1104 N White Sands Blvd # C, Alamogordo, NM 88310, United States
Phone: 575-437-4942

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*