Lookup Public Records in Ravalli County, Montana. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Ravalli County, Montana Overview

Ravalli County is located in the U.S. state of Montana. The county was formed in 1893 and named after Anthony Ravalli (1812 – 1884), a Jesuit missionary who came to the area in 1845. The county seat is Hamilton. According to the U.S. Census Bureau of 2015, the county has a population of approximately 41,373 people. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,400 square miles of which 2,391 square miles is land and 9.4 square miles is water. Ravalli County borders the following counties: Missoula County to the north; Granite County to the east; Beaverhead County to the southeast; Lemhi County, Idaho to the south and Idaho County, Idaho to the west/Pacific Time Border. Ravalli County has nine zip codes. The zip codes are 59827, 59828, 59829, 59833, 59840, 59841, 59870, 59871 and 59875. The most populated zip code is 59840.

Ravalli County Clerk of District Courts Office Information

The Office of the Clerk of Court is responsible for the following duties:

  • Receive, file and maintain criminal, civil, domestic, juvenile, probate, guardianship, dependent / neglected youths, mentally ill, paternity and adoption cases. Establish and maintain court calendars of trials and hearings.
  • Attend and record court proceedings, administer oaths to witnesses, take court minutes and act as custodian of exhibits.
  • Enter Orders, Judgments and Decrees in Judgment Docket.
  • Prepare and transmit files to the Supreme Court, Sentence Review and Guest Judges as required.
  • Receive, receipt and transmit child support payments and court fines and fees.
  • Issue Summons, Executions and Subpoenas.
  • Issue marriage licenses.
  • Impanel and issue annual summons to prospective jurors selected from a list of registered voters and licensed drivers randomly drawn as provided by the Secretary of State.
  • Draw, process and notify prospective jurors for individual trials.
  • Keep jurors informed of the status of the pending cases and issue checks for their services.
  • Process and forward passport applications to the Passport Agency.

Search records and make copies upon written request and pre-payment of search and copy fees.

Ravalli County Clerk of District Courts Office Website:

The physical address of the Ravalli County Clerk of District Courts Office is:

205 Bedford Street
Suite D
Hamilton, MT 59840
Email: ptrautwein@rc.mt.gov
Email: courtfilings@rc.mt.gov (For Court Filings)
Phone: (406) 375-6710
Fax: (406) 375-6721
Office Hours: Monday – Friday, 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Paige Trautwein is the Clerk of the District Court of Ravalli County. She can be contacted at (406) 375-6710 or emailed at ptrautwein@rc.mt.gov

Ravalli County Clerk and Recorder’s Office Information

The Clerk and Recorder’s office is the custodian of hundreds of types of documents. The office is responsible for recording and maintaining a variety of records. The duties are:

  • Recording and filing various documents regarding real property.
  • Changing a billing address on your tax bill.
  • Voter registration and information.
  • Obtaining certified copies of birth and death records.
  • Address issuance.
  • Survey copies.
  • Commissioner resolutions.
  • County tax appeal forms.
  • Declaration of Homestead.
  • Real property research, including old well logs, covenants, easements.
  • School and Fire District maps.
  • Voluntary zoning petitions.

Document indexing dates back to 1988 and all imaging goes back to 1999. If you need a copy of an older document before 1988, you will need to send a written request to the office. A fee is also charged alongside the written request. This payment is a minimum of $5.00 for up to five pages. Any request over pages will require an additional .25 per page. Certified copies are an additional $2.00 charge per document.

Most recorded documents are public records and can be accessed by visiting the iDoc Market service. To search for recorded documents, visit the following link below:

To download the birth certificate request/application form, visit the following link:

To download the death certificate request/application form, click the following link:

The filing/recording fee schedule schedule of the Clerk and Recorder’s Office is given below:

  • Standard document fee $7 per page
  • Nonstandard document fee is an additional $10 per document
  • UCC filing is $7
  • Construction lien filing is $5
  • Filing fees for subdivision plats are $25 plus $0.50 for each lot in subdivision up to and including 100 (Plus $1.00 for each additional plat page)
  • Filing fees for certificate of surveys or amended plats are $25 plus $0.50 per lot or tract (Plus $1.00 for each additional plat page)
  • Copies of documents are $0.50 for first page and $0.25 per page thereafter (an additional $5.00 will be added if purchasing copies through the mail or via e-mail)
  • Certified copies of recorded documents are $2 certification fee plus copy fees
  • Certified birth records are $5 (available to immediate family only)
  • Informational copies of birth certificates are $0.50
  • Certified death records are $3 per copy
  • Informational copies of death certificates are $0.50

Ravalli County Clerk and Recorder’s Office Website:

The physical address of the Ravalli County Clerk and Recorder’s Office is:

215 S. 4th Street
Suite C
Hamilton, MT 59840
Email: recorder@rc.mt.gov
Phone: (406) 375-6555
Fax: (406) 375-6554
Office Hours: Monday – Friday, 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Regina Plettenberg is the Clerk and Recorder of Ravalli County. She can be contacted at (406) 375-6555 or emailed at recorder@rc.mt.gov

Ravalli County Marriage License Office
In order to obtain a marriage license in Ravalli County, the applicants must apply together, in person, at the County Clerk’s office. Both parties must present their state-issued picture ID, military ID, or passport, and know their social security number
State Law:Marriage – Husband and Wife – Title 40 Chapters 1 & 2 and Uniform Premarital Agreement Act – Title 40 Chapter 2 Part 6
All State Statutes: Information is online at the State Website
Office:Ravalli County Marriage License
Location:205 Bedford Street, Hamilton, Montana, 59840

Ravalli County Clerk’s Office
County Government Office

Address: 215 S 4th St, Hamilton, MT 59840, United States
Phone: 406-375-6212

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *