Lookup Public Records in Winston CountyMississippi. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Winston County Overview

Established in 1833, Winston County, Mississippi was named for a colonel in the militia, Louis Winston. Mr. Winston was also a lawyer and judge of the Mississippi Supreme Court. The population, as of the 2010 census was 19,198. Louisville is both the county seat and the largest community. The county is the site of Nanih Waiya, an ancient mound built in the Woodland period, about 1 CE-300 CE. Since the 17th century, it has been venerated by the Choctaw people who later occupied the area. As of 2008, the mound is owned by the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians, a Federally-recognized tribe. The county has a total area of 610 miles, 607 of which is land, and the remaining three-square miles is water. Bordering counties are: Oktibbeha to the north, Noxubee to the east, Kemper to the southeast, Neshoba to the south, Attala to the west and Choctaw to the northwest. The county is also home to a portion of the nationally protected Tombigbee National Forest. The most populous zip code is 39339, and it is one of nine total zips utilized the county.

Winston County Clerk Information

Kim Ming, Circuit Clerk
P.O. Box 785
Louisville, MS 39339

The clerk has a varied list of responsibilities:

  • Serve as Clerk of the Circuit Court (Includes attending court for two, 4-week Terms – 4th week in April and the 4th week in October)
  • Receive and file all law suits, Indictments, Motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit Court and issue all process including summons and subpoenas.
  • Maintain all Docket Books including Judge’s Docket, Grand Jury Docket, Civil and Criminal Docket Books etc.
  • Draw Jurors, prepare summons and qualify Jurors
  • Keep a record of all Judgments and Executions
  • Issue Marriage License, file a Statistical Record of Marriage with the State Board of Health and keep marriage records
  • Record medical and other professional licenses
  • Register citizens to vote, collect a filing fee from candidates pursuing a county office and assist in the management of elections

Winston County Records

Darlene Bane, Tax Assessor and Tax Collector
113 West Main (Courthouse)
Louisville, Ms. 39339
(662) 773-3694

Assessments and values, tax exempt property, tax credits and exemptions:

Julie Cunningham, Chancery Clerk
P.O. Drawer 69
Louisville, Ms. 39339

Land records, deeds, fee schedules, plats and surveys, maps, passports, tax liens, easements and condemnations:

Motor vehicle information:

Winston County Marriage License Office
In order to obtain a marriage license in Winston County, the applicants must apply together, in person, at the County Clerk’s office. Both parties must present their state-issued picture ID, military ID, or passport, and know their social security number
State Law:Marriage – Title 93, Ch. 1
All State Statutes: Information is online at the State Website
Office:Winston County Marriage License
Location:115 South Court Avenue, Louisville, Mississippi, 39339

Winston County Chancery Clerk’s Office
County Government Office

Address: 115 S Court Ave, Louisville, MS 39339, United States
Phone: 662-773-3631

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *