Lookup Public Records in Jefferson Davis CountyMississippi. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Jefferson Davis County Overview

Established in 1906, Jefferson Davis County is a county located in the U.S. state of Mississippi. As of the 2010 census, the population was 12,487. Its county seat, and largest community is Prentiss. The county’s name honors Mississippi Senator and Confederate President Jefferson Davis. The genesis of the county occurred when a Mississippi state legislative act authorized the new country’s boundaries. The residents of western Covington County and eastern Lawrence County had frequently complained of the rivers and streams impeding the route to their respective county seats. Jefferson Davis County was the state’s 77th county. In 1933, the county was the first in Mississippi to issue a prohibition on alcohol after the repeal of the Eighteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution. Round dancing in the community hall was banned in 1938. In 1935, notorious bank robber Raymond Hamilton, known to hide out in the county’s wilderness, was involved in a hostage situation after robbing Prentiss’ Bank of Blountville, but escaped in Memphis. The county has a total area of 409 square miles, which is almost all land. Adjacent counties are: Covington to the east, Lamar to the southeast, Marion to the south, and Lawrence to the west. The most populous zip code is 39474, and it is one of nine total zips assigned to the county.

Jefferson Davis County Clerk Information

Clint W. Langley, Circuit Clerk
P.O. Box 1090
Prentiss, MS 39474

The Circuit Clerk serves as Clerk of the County and Circuit Courts, receives and files all lawsuits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts and issues all process including summons and subpoenas, draws jurors and qualifies juries, keeps a record of all judgments and executions, issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages, records medical and other professional licenses, and registers citizens to vote and has other duties in handling elections.

Jefferson Davis County Records

Kelley R. Brown, Tax Assessor and Collector
P.O. Box 547
Prentiss, MS 39474

Assessments and values, tax exempt property, tax credits and exemptions:

Charlene H. Farley, Chancery Clerk
P.O. Box 1137
Prentiss, MS 39474

Land records, deeds, fee schedules, plats and surveys, maps, passports, tax liens, easements and condemnations:

Pay property taxes and forms:

Jefferson Davis County Marriage License Office
In order to obtain a marriage license in Jefferson Davis County, the applicants must apply together, in person, at the County Clerk’s office. Both parties must present their state-issued picture ID, military ID, or passport, and know their social security number
State Law:Marriage – Title 93, Ch. 1
All State Statutes: Information is online at the State Website
Office:Jefferson Davis County Marriage License
Location:2325 Columbia Avenue, Prentiss, Mississippi, 39474

Jefferson Davis County Chancery Clerk’s Office
County Government Office

Address: 2426 Pearl Ave, Prentiss, MS 39474, United States
Phone: 601-792-4204

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *