Lookup Public Records in Jefferson CountyMississippi. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Jefferson County Overview

Jefferson County, Mississippi, established in 1799, and named for former POTUS, Thomas Jefferson has the Mississippi River at its western boundary. As of the 2010 census, the population was 7,726 which makes it the third-least populous county in Mississippi. Its county seat is Fayette, and it is also the largest community. Originally developed as cotton plantations in the antebellum era, the rural county has struggled with a declining economy and reduced population since the mechanization of agriculture and urbanization of other areas. In 2014 its estimated population of 7599 was roughly one-third of the population peak in 1900. The total area of the county is 520 square miles of land, plus seven square miles of water. Adjacent counties are all in Mississippi except for Tensas Parish, LA to the west. Other neighboring counties are: Claiborne to the north, Copiah to the northeast, Lincoln to the southeast, Franklin to the south, and Adams to the southwest. Portions of two nationally protected areas are inside the county lines, the Homochitto National Forest and the Natchez Trace Parkway. Zachary Taylor, U.S. President, planter, and soldier who often stayed on his plantation, Cypress Grove in Jefferson County, between 1840 and 1848. Of the six zip codes assigned to the county, 39069 has the largest population.

Jefferson County Clerk Information

Jefferson County Courthouse
1483 Main Street
Fayette, MS 39069

Arnell Harried, Circuit Clerk
P.O. Box 305
1483 Main St.
Fayette, MS 39069

The Circuit Clerk serves as Clerk of the County and Circuit Courts, receives and files all lawsuits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts and issues all process including summons and subpoenas, draws jurors and qualifies juries, keeps a record of all judgments and executions, issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages, records medical and other professional licenses, issues passports, and registers citizens to vote and has other duties in handling elections.

Jefferson County Records

Samantha Franklin-Jackson, MAE, Tax Assessor, and Collector
1483 Main Street
P. O. Box 357
Fayette, MS 39069

Assessments and values, tax exempt property, tax credits and exemptions, and forms:

Delorise “Lois” Frye, Chancery Clerk
P.O. Box 145
1483 Main St.
Fayette, MS 39069

Land records, deeds, fee schedules, plats and surveys, maps, passports, tax liens, easements and condemnations:

Pay property taxes and forms:

Marriage information, forms and fees:

Jefferson County Marriage License Office
In order to obtain a marriage license in Jefferson County, the applicants must apply together, in person, at the County Clerk’s office. Both parties must present their state-issued picture ID, military ID, or passport, and know their social security number
State Law:Marriage – Title 93, Ch. 1
All State Statutes: Information is online at the State Website
Office:Jefferson County Marriage License
Location:1483 Main Street, Fayette, Mississippi, 39069

Jefferson County Chancery Clerk’s Office

Address: 1483 Main St, Fayette, MS 39069, United States
Phone: 601-786-3021

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *