Lookup Public Records in Holmes CountyMississippi. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Holmes County Overview

Holmes County is a county in the U.S. state of Mississippi; its western border is formed by the Yazoo River and the eastern border by the Big Black River. The western part of the county is within the Yazoo-Mississippi Delta. As of the 2010 census, the population was 19,198. Its county seat is Lexington; however, Durant is the largest community. The county is named in honor of David Holmes, territorial governor and the first governor of the state of Mississippi. The county was established in 1833, and the total area is 757 square miles of land, plus eight square miles of water. Neighboring counties are: Carroll to the north, Attala to the east, Yazoo to the south, Humphreys to the west, and Leflore to the northwest. The county is home or partially home to several nationally protected areas: The Hillside National Wildlife Refuge, the Matthews Brake National Wildlife Refuge, the Morgan Brake National Wildlife Refuge and the Theodore Roosevelt National Wildlife Refuge. Holmes county is used extensively as a setting in many of the novels of Carolyn Haines, including Smarty Bones. Of the eight zip codes assigned to the county, the largest is 39095.

Holmes County Clerk Information

Earline Wright-Hart
22549 Depot Street
PO Box 718
Lexington MS 39095

The Circuit Clerk is elected at large for a four-year term. The Circuit Clerk serves as Clerk of the County and Circuit Courts, receives and files all lawsuits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts and issues all process including summons and subpoenas, draws jurors and qualifies juries, keeps a record of all judgments and executions, issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages, records medical and other professional licenses, and registers citizens to vote and has other duties in handling elections.

Holmes County Records

Linda Rollins, Tax Assessor/Collector
PO Box 449
Lexington MS 39095

Assessments and values, tax exempt property, tax credits and exemptions:

Henry Luckett, Chancery Clerk
PO Box 1211
Lexington MS 39095

Land records, deeds, fee schedules, plats and surveys, maps, passports, tax liens, easements and condemnations:

Holmes County Marriage License Office
In order to obtain a marriage license in Holmes County, the applicants must apply together, in person, at the County Clerk’s office. Both parties must present their state-issued picture ID, military ID, or passport, and know their social security number
State Law:Marriage – Title 93, Ch. 1
All State Statutes: Information is online at the State Website
Office:Hinds County Marriage License
Location:127 West Main Street, Raymond, Mississippi, 39154

Holmes County Chancery Clerk
County Government Office

Address: 2 Court Square, Lexington, MS 39095, United States
Phone: 662-834-2508

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *