Lookup Public Records in Jackson County, Minnesota. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Jackson County, Minnesota Overview

Jackson County is located in the U.S. state of Minnesota. The county was formed in 1857 and named after Henry Jackson, a member of the first territorial legislature and the first merchant in St. Paul. The county seat is Jackson. According to the U.S. Census Bureau of 2013, the county has a population of approximately 10,260 people. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 719 square miles of which 703 square miles is land and 16 square miles is water. Jackson County borders the following counties: Cottonwood County to the north; Watonwan County to the northeast; Martin County to the east; Emmet County, Iowa to the southeast; Dickinson County, Iowa to the south; Osceola County, Iowa to the southwest and Nobles County to the west. Jackson County has 13 zip codes. The zip codes are 56111, 56118, 56119, 56137, 56143, 56150, 56159, 56160, 56161, 56167, 51360, 56101 and 56187. The most populated zip code is 56143.

Jackson County Recorder’s Office Information

The County Recorder is the custodian of all legal records pertaining to real estate in the county. County government depends on the taxes that it collects in forms of property taxes. All other county offices depend on the accuracy of real estate records. The Recorder’s Office records deeds, mortgages and numerous real estate documents such as releases, contract for deeds, mechanic liens, state and federal tax liens, etc. The public may request certified copies of the documents filed in the Recorder’s Office by completing the required form and paying the required fees.

The Jackson County Recorder’s Office also performs the following services:

  • Marriage license – moms – Minnesota official marriage system
  • Birth certificates
  • Death certificates
  • Electronic certificate of real estate value
  • Mortgage registry
  • Notary applications
  • Well disclosures
  • Farm disposal of building materials
  • Taking passport photos

The mailing address of the Jackson County Recorder’s Office is:

P. O. Box 209
Jackson, MN 56143

The physical address of the Jackson County Recorder’s Office is:

405 4th Street
Jackson, MN 56143
Email: becky.mccann@co.jackson.mn.us
Phone: (507) 847-2580
Fax: (507) 847-6824
Office Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Becky McCann is the Jackson County Recorder. She can be contacted at (507) 847-2580 or emailed at becky.mccann@co.jackson.mn.us

Jackson County Marriage License Office
In order to obtain a marriage license in Jackson County, the applicants must apply together, in person, at the County Clerk’s office. Both parties must present their state-issued picture ID, military ID, or passport, and know their social security number
State Law:Marriage License – Ch. 551, 551.101 – 551.111 and Barring of dower; antenuptial pecuniary provisions – Ch. 558, §558.16
All State Statutes: Information is online at the State Website
Office:Jackson County Marriage License
Location:Jackson County Recorder, 405 4Th Street, Jackson, Minnesota, 56143

Jackson County Recorder’s Office
County Government Office

Address: 405 4th St #7, Jackson, MN 56143, United States
Phone: 507-847-2580

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *