Lookup Public Records in Cottonwood County, Minnesota. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Cottonwood County, Minnesota Overview

Cottonwood County is located in the U.S. state of Minnesota. The county was formed in 1857 and named after Cottonwood River. The county seat is Windom. According to the U.S. Census Bureau of 2013, the county has a population of approximately 11,616 people. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 649 square miles of which 639 square miles is land and 10 square miles is water. Cottonwood County borders the following counties: Redwood County to the north; Brown County to the northeast; Watonwan County to the east; Martin County to the southeast; Jackson County to the south; Nobles County to the southwest and Murray County to the west. Cottonwood County has 13 zip codes. The zip codes are 56118, 56019, 56131, 56137, 56145, 56152, 56159, 56166, 56083, 56174, 56180, 56183 and 56101. The most populated zip code is 56101.

Cottonwood County Recorder’s Office Information

The County Recorder is the custodian of all Cottonwood County records pertaining to real estate, birth, death, marriage, military discharges, Uniform Commercial Code and State and Federal tax liens. The Cottonwood County Recorder also acts as an agent for the Minnesota Department of Public Safety and issues driver’s licenses and ID cards.

The physical address of the Cottonwood County Recorder’s Office is:

900 3rd Avenue
Windom, MN 56101
Email: kathleen.kretsch@co.cottonwood.mn.us
Phone: (507) 831-1458
Fax: (507) 831-3675
Office Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Kathleen Kretsch is the Cottonwood County Recorder. She can be contacted at (507) 831-1458 or emailed at kathleen.kretsch@co.cottonwood.mn.us

Cottonwood County Recorder’s Office Staffs:

Nancy Macgregor, Chief Deputy County Recorder
Susan Horkey, Deputy County Recorder
Angela Sykora, Deputy County Recorder

Cottonwood County Assessor’s Office Information

The Cottonwood County Assessor’s Office is responsible for the appraisal of all real estate, personal property, and mobile homes within the county. The assessor is also responsible for determining the market value and classification of property within the county. The county assessor’s office also conducts statistical studies of market value ratios, prepares appraisal reports for the County Board and Tax Court, and advices municipalities and the County Board on assessment issues.

Other duties carried out by the Cottonwood County Assessor’s Office are:

  • Determine the use of each property and assigns a classification based on that use.
  • Determine the homestead status of the property.
  • Determine the ad valorem appraised value of each property.
  • Calculate the tax capacity of each property.
  • Notify taxpayers annually of the classification and market value of their property.
  • Assist Local Boards and County Boards with Equalization meetings.
  • Answer property tax questions.

The physical address of the Cottonwood County Assessor’s Office is:

900 3rd Avenue
Windom, MN 56101
Email: gale.bondhus@co.cottonwood.mn.us
Phone: (507) 831-2458
Office Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Gale Bondus, SAMA is the Cottonwood County Assessor. He can be contacted at (507) 831-2458 or emailed at gale.bondhus@co.cottonwood.mn.us

Cottonwood County Assessor’s Office Staffs:

Karla Ambrose, CMAS
Residential Appraiser (Trainee)
Email: karla.ambrose@co.cottonwood.mn.us
Phone: (507) 831-2458

Alan Coners, CMAS
Commercial, Township Residential & Agricultural Appraiser
Email: alan.coners@co.cottonwood.mn.us
Phone: (507) 831-2458
Cell: (507) 920-3959

Jean Gode, CMA
Township Residential & Agricultural Appraiser
Email: jean.gode@co.cottonwood.mn.us
Phone: (507) 831-2458

Susan Amundson, CMA
Office Manager/Appraiser
Email: susan.amundson@co.cottonwood.mn
Phone: (507) 831-2458

Meridee Paulson
Assessor Technician
Email: meridee.paulson@co.cottonwood.mn
Phone: (507) 831-2458

Cottonwood County Marriage License Office
In order to obtain a marriage license in Cottonwood County, the applicants must apply together, in person, at the County Clerk’s office. Both parties must present their state-issued picture ID, military ID, or passport, and know their social security number
State Law:Marriage License – Ch. 551, 551.101 – 551.111 and Barring of dower; antenuptial pecuniary provisions – Ch. 558, §558.16
All State Statutes: Information is online at the State Website
Office:Cottonwood County Marriage License
Location:Cottonwood County Recorder, 900 Third Avenue, Room 6, Windom, Minnesota, 56101

Cottonwood County Recorder Office
County Government Office

Address: 900 3rd Ave, Windom, MN 56101, United States
Phone: 507-831-1458

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *