Lookup Public Records in Washtenaw CountyMichigan. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Washtenaw County, Michigan Overview

Washtenaw County is located near the lower border of Michigan’s Lower Peninsula and has 722 square miles. It is also comprised of 16 square miles of water and borders Livingston County to the north, Wayne County to the east, Jackson County to the west and Monroe and Lenawee Counties to the south. Approximately 354,240 people lived in the town during the 2013 census. There are 6 zip codes in Washtenaw County: 48103, 48104, 48105, 48108, 48109, 48111, 48118, 49236, 48130, 49240, 48137, 48158, 48160, 48167, 48168, 48169, 48170, 48176, 48178, 49285, 49287, 48189, 48190, 48191, 48197 and 48198.

Washtenaw County Officials Information

The Washtenaw County Clerk also serves as the Court Clerk.
Washtenaw County Clerk: Lawrence Kestenbaum
Address: 200 N. Main, Ann Arbor, MI 48107
Phone: 734-222-6720
Fax: 734-222-6528
Hours: 8:30am – 5:00pm
Closed Legal and County Holidays

The County Clerk is responsible for all vital records within Washtenaw County, including birth and death records, marriage licenses and applications, business names, genealogy, concealed pistol permits, elections and passports. Forms for these requirements are available online, and there are searches available for birth and death records, marriage licenses and business names. Other information can be requested in person, during normal business hours.
The Register of Deeds is responsible for information related to all real and personal property within the county. They are responsible for documenting and maintaining liens, gas & oil leases, mortgages, deeds and other property related documentation. These documents are considered public record and are available for viewing or purchase at any time. Requests can be made in person, during normal business hours, though forms and fees are available online.

The equalization department is responsible for the taxable value of all property located within the county and maintaining a fair and accurate accounting of it.
Washtenaw County Assessment Office:
200 N. Main St, Suite 210, Ann Arbor, MI 48107-8645
Phone: 734-222-6662
Fax: 734-222-6589
Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:30 am – 5:00 pm

Information is available from the assessment office during normal business hours, with some information, including property and parcel lookup and property mapping information, is available online. This department is tasked with setting equalized and taxable base values for the county and maintaining the graphic representation of it.

Washtenaw Court Records Information

Court records for Washtenaw County are available online and are sorted based on the specific court they belong with. The court calendar is also available here. Most court records are considered public record once filed and are available to view or purchase copies of at that time. Requests can also be made in person, at the office, during normal business hours.

Washtenaw County Marriage License Office
In order to obtain a marriage license in Washtenaw County, the applicants must apply together, in person, at the County Clerk’s office. Both parties must present their state-issued picture ID, military ID, or passport, and know their social security number
State Law:Marriage License – Ch. 551, 551.101 – 551.111 and Barring of dower; antenuptial pecuniary provisions – Ch. 558, §558.16
All State Statutes: Information is online at the State Website
Office:Washtenaw County Marriage License
Location:Washtenaw Vital Records, 200 North Main St., Ste 100, Ann Arbor, Michigan, 48107

Washtenaw County Clerk/Register of Deeds Office
County Government Office

Address: 200 N Main St, Ann Arbor, MI 48104, United States
Phone: 734-222-6700

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *