Lookup Public Records in Jackson CountyMichigan. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Jackson County, Michigan

Jackson County is located in the state of Michigan. The county was set off in 1829 and organized in 1832. It is named after U.S. President Andrew Jackson and considered to be one of Michigan’s “Cabinet counties”. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a population of approximately 160,248 people and a total area of 723 square miles, of which 22 square miles is water and 702 square miles is land. Jackson County borders the following counties: Livingston County to the northeast, Ingham County to the north, Eaton County to the northwest, Washtenaw County to the east, Calhoun County to the west, Lenawee County to the southeast, and Hillsdale County to the southwest. The county seat is also named Jackson.

The Jackson County Register of Deeds is charged with the responsibility of maintaining public records in the county.  Records maintained by the Register of Deeds include but are not limited to leases, plats and surveys, deeds, mortgages, easements, real estate, assignments, releases, federal and state tax liens, and condemnations.

Records maintained by the register of deeds are open to the public and can be accessed by doing a public records search online through the Jackson County Register of Deeds Website. Records that are available online include deeds, mortgages and miscellaneous documents dating from 1964 back to 1800. Public records can also be obtained in person by visiting the Register of Deeds office or by email. Below is the fee schedule applicable:

  • Credit Card (online only)- $1.00 per page and $1.00 per transaction fee
  • Email or Fax- $3.00 for the first page; $1.00 for each additional page
  • In Office- $1.00 per page, cash or check only.

However, for vital records, it is convenient to use VitalChek Network to obtain death or birth records with a credit card payment. When using the site, you will be charged $25 for the first certified copy, and $5.00 for any additional copy of the same record, plus shipping fees.

Jackson County Marriage License Office
In order to obtain a marriage license in Jackson County, the applicants must apply together, in person, at the County Clerk’s office. Both parties must present their state-issued picture ID, military ID, or passport, and know their social security number
State Law:Marriage License – Ch. 551, 551.101 – 551.111 and Barring of dower; antenuptial pecuniary provisions – Ch. 558, §558.16
All State Statutes: Information is online at the State Website
Office:Jackson County Marriage License
Location:Jackson County Clerk, 312 South Jackson Street, Jackson, Michigan, 49201

Jackson County Clerk’s Office

Address: 312 S Jackson St #1, Jackson, MI 49201, United States
Phone: 517-788-4268

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *