Lookup Public Records in Ingham CountyMichigan. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Ingham County, Michigan

Ingham County is located in the state of Michigan. The county was formed from portions of Shiawassee County, Washtenaw County, and unorganized territory on October 29, 1829. It was named after Samuel D. Ingham, the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury under President Andrew Jackson, making Ingham one of Michigan’s “Cabinet counties”. Lansing is the largest city in the county, while Mason is the county seat. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a population of approximately 280,895 people and a total area of 561 square miles, of which 4.6 square miles is water and 556 square miles is land. Ingham County borders the following counties: Shiawassee County to the northeast, Livingston County to the east, Washtenaw County to the southeast, Jackson County to the south, Eaton County to the west, and Clinton County to the north.

The Ingham County Clerk is elected for a four-year term and is responsible for maintaining all official documents for the county. Some of the records maintained by the office of the clerk include but are not limited to assumed names, co-partnerships, and vital records (birth, marriage, and death records). The Clerk also serves as the Clerk of the Board of Commissioners and acts as the Chief Election Official in the County.

Copies of vital records can be obtained by doing a background check online through the Ingham County Clerk Website. The office of the clerk has marriage license records dating back to 1837, as well as birth and death records dating back to 1867. While on the website, click on the appropriate heading to the left for assistance in finding the record(s) or form(s) you need. Alternatively, you can visit the clerk’s office in person during office hours. You will be required to submit a records request for the records you want to obtain.

Below is the physical address of the Ingham County Clerk’s office:

Mason Courthouse

341 S. Jefferson

Mason MI 48854

Ingham County Marriage License Office
In order to obtain a marriage license in Ingham County, the applicants must apply together, in person, at the County Clerk’s office. Both parties must present their state-issued picture ID, military ID, or passport, and know their social security number
State Law:Marriage License – Ch. 551, 551.101 – 551.111 and Barring of dower; antenuptial pecuniary provisions – Ch. 558, §558.16
All State Statutes: Information is online at the State Website
Office:Ingham County Marriage License
Location:Ingham County Clerk, Town Square, Mason, Michigan, 48854

Ingham County Clerk’s Office

Address: 315 S Jefferson St, Mason, MI 48854, United States
Phone: 517-676-7201

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *