Lookup Public Records in Gratiot CountyMichigan. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Gratiot County, Michigan Overview

Gratiot County is located in the center of the Lower Peninsula of Michigan. It consists of only 572 square miles, 3.1 of which are water. Named for Captain Charles Gratiot who built Fort Gratiot in Port Huron, the county is bordered to the east by Saginaw County, to the west by Montcalm County, to the south by Clinton County and to the north by Midland and Isabella Counties. Approximately 41,968 people lived in the county during the 2013 census. There are 20 zip codes in Gratiot County: 48801, 48806, 48807, 48614, 48615, 48811, 48831, 48832, 48835, 48845, 48847, 48637, 48856, 48871, 48874, 48877, 48879, 48880, 48889 and 48662.

Gratiot County Officials Information

The Gratiot County Clerk also serves as the Court Clerk.
Gratiot County Clerk: Angie Thompson
214 East Center Street Ithaca, MI 48847
Phone: 989-875-5215
Fax: 989-875-5254
Hours: Monday – Friday, 8 am – 4:30 pm
Closed Legal and County Holidays
The County Clerk is responsible for birth, death and marriage licenses and certificates as well as DBA’s, notary public applications, military discharge papers, civil and criminal court matters and any elections as well as concealed pistol licenses. The fee schedule for these documents is available online, however there are no documents or records available online. Much of this information is considered public record and is therefore able to be searched and copied by in person request, during normal business hours.
The Register of Deeds is responsible for all land records within the county. They are considered the custodian of legal documents that relate to any kind of real property which include quit claim deeds, land contracts, mortgages, warranty deeds, powers of attorney, liens, oil & gas leases and releases.

The Equalization department is responsible for fair and accurate taxing of all property located within the county.
Gratiot County Equalization Department:
214 East Center Street Ithaca, MI 48847
Phone: 989-875-5203
Hours: Monday – Friday, 8 am – 4:30 pm
Closed Legal and County Holidays
Information from the assessment or equalization office can be made in person. These documents are primarily considered public record and are therefore available for viewing or purchase by the general public. Parcel lookup is available online, as are several forms related to the department, such as PRE forms and rescind forms and property transfer.

Gratiot Court Records Information

The court calendar for Gratiot County is available online, as is basic information and resources related to the justice and court processes. There are no records available online and all requests must be made in person at the courthouse. This information is considered public record once it has been filed and is available for purchase.

Gratiot County Marriage License Office
In order to obtain a marriage license in Gratiot County, the applicants must apply together, in person, at the County Clerk’s office. Both parties must present their state-issued picture ID, military ID, or passport, and know their social security number
State Law:Marriage License – Ch. 551, 551.101 – 551.111 and Barring of dower; antenuptial pecuniary provisions – Ch. 558, §558.16
All State Statutes: Information is online at the State Website
Office:Gratiot County Marriage License
Location:Gratiot County Clerk, 214 East Center Street, Ithaca, Michigan, 48847

Gratiot County Clerk’s Office
County Government Office

Address: 214 E Center St, Ithaca, MI 48847, United States
Phone: 989-875-5215

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *