Lookup Public Records in Emmet CountyMichigan. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Emmet County, Michigan Overview

Located at the very top of the Lower Peninsula of Michigan, Emmet County is comprised of 882 square miles, nearly half of which is water, at 415 square miles. Located in the middle of Lake Michigan and the Straits of Mackinac, to the east is Cheboygan County and to the south is Charlevoix. There were approximately 33,140 people living there in 2013. There are 11 zip codes in Emmet County, which are: 49706, 49713, 49716, 49718, 49722, 49740, 49755, 49701, 49764, 49769 and 49770.

Emmet County Officials Information

The Emmet County Clerk also serves as the Court Clerk.
Emmet County Clerk: Juli Wallin
200 Division St, Suite 130 Petoskey, MI 49770
Phone: 231-348-1744
Fax: 231-348-0602
Hours: Monday – Friday, 8 am – 5 pm
Closed Legal and County Holidays

The Emmet County Clerk is responsible for all birth and death records, concealed weapons license applications, DBA’s and dissolutions, divorce packets, genealogy, marriage records and license applications, military discharge and notary public information. She is Clerk for the Board of Commissioners, Jury Commission, Board of Canvassers, Concealed Weapons Licensing Board and Tax Allocation Board as well as a member of the Special Election Scheduling Committee, the County Election Commission and the County Plat Board. She also serves as Chief Election Official for the county. Much of the information is available online through vital records searches and what isn’t is available by in person or mailed request.

The Register of Deeds is responsible for real and personal property information for those properties located throughout the country. In this office you will find land records and other property related records, which can be viewed during normal business hours in the office. This department also provides a free online records search where documents can be purchased, though not all information is currently available and the county is in the process of uploading more documents.

The equalization department of Emmet County is responsible for property assessments and tax information related to properties.

Emmet County Assessment Office:

200 Division St., Suite 180 Petoskey, MI 49770
Phone: 231-348-1708
Fax: 231-348-1768
Hours: Monday – Friday, 8 am – 5 pm
Closed Legal and County Holidays

Most information located in the equalization department is considered public record and is available for viewing and purchase. Interactive maps and an entire country property search is also available on the website. Any other information can be purchased or viewed in person during normal business hours.

Emmet Court Records Information

The court docket is available online, as are online payments with additional information being available by in person request, during normal business hours. Forms and other court information is available online and may court records are considered public record and are available for anyone to view or purchase.

Emmet County Marriage License Office
In order to obtain a marriage license in Emmet County, the applicants must apply together, in person, at the County Clerk’s office. Both parties must present their state-issued picture ID, military ID, or passport, and know their social security number
State Law:Marriage License – Ch. 551, 551.101 – 551.111 and Barring of dower; antenuptial pecuniary provisions – Ch. 558, §558.16
All State Statutes: Information is online at the State Website
Office:Emmet County Marriage License
Location:Emmet County Clerk, 200 Division Street, Petoskey, Michigan, 49770

Emmet County Clerk’s Office
County Government Office

Address: 200 Division St, Petoskey, MI 49770, United States
Phone: 231-348-1702

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *