Lookup Public Records in Crawford CountyMichigan. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Crawford County , Michigan Overview

Crawford County is located in what is considered the central region of Michigan’s Lower Peninsula, though it is somewhat closer to the top. This land-locked county has approximately 563 square miles of total area with only 7 square miles of that consisting of water. Named for a Revolutionary War soldier killed back in 1782, the county was originally created as Shawono County before receiving the name of Colonel William Crawford. It is bordered by Otsego County to the north, Oscoda County to the east, Roscommon County to the south and Kalkaska County to the west and had approximately 13,904 people as of the 2013 census. There are only four zip codes in all of Crawford County, 49733, 49738, 49756 and 48653.

Crawford County Officials Information

The Crawford County Clerk serves also as the Court Clerk and Register of Deeds.
Crawford County Clerk: Sandra Moore
200 W. Michigan Ave. Grayling, MI 49738
Phone: 989-348-2841
Fax: 989-344-3223
Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:30 am – 12 pm and 1pm – 4:30 pm
Closed Legal and County Holidays

At the County Clerk/Register of Deeds’ office you will find vital records such as birth, death, divorce and marriage certificates as well as DD214 documents, concealed weapons permits, notary documents and passports. You will also find all legal orders relating to the circuit court and district court as well as appeals from probate court, the MESC and driver’s license restoration cases.

The Register of Deeds portion of the office handles personal and real property documents, including records and indexes of land transactions and personal property filings. These include deeds, mortgages, UCC transactions, oil, gas and mineral rights and liens. Deed records may be purchased from the County Clerk/Register of Deeds on the internet. These documents are purchased one at a time and require you to create a login to see, view and purchase copies.

Most other documents from this office, the County Clerk and Register of Deeds, are considered public record and are therefore available for purchase in person, during normal business hours.

The Crawford County Assessment Department is known as the Equalization Department and is responsible for true cash value determinations of properties throughout the townships and cities of the county.

Crawford County Equalization Department
200 W. Michigan Ave. Grayling, MI 49738
Phone: 989-344-3235
Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:30 am – 12 pm, 1 pm – 4:30 pm
Closed Legal and County Holidays

Most requests for records from the equalization department must be made in person, though there are a few records that are available online. These include millage apportionment rates and summer-winter breakdowns for 2016 as well as a statewide search for subdivision plats, parcel formats and homestead exemption affidavits. There is some data available on the data search website from the equalization department website, however this is also limited. Other requests must be made in person, including those for GIS information.

Crawford County Court Records Information

Most court records are considered to be public record and are available to the general public for a fee. These records are not available online, however, and all requests must be made in personal at the county courthouse. Information about the courts of Crawford County is available on the website as well as information about jury duty, PPO’s, fines and the parole and probation office.

Crawford County Marriage License Office
In order to obtain a marriage license in Crawford County, the applicants must apply together, in person, at the County Clerk’s office. Both parties must present their state-issued picture ID, military ID, or passport, and know their social security number
State Law:Marriage License – Ch. 551, 551.101 – 551.111 and Barring of dower; antenuptial pecuniary provisions – Ch. 558, §558.16
All State Statutes: Information is online at the State Website
Office:Crawford County Marriage License
Location:Crawford County Clerk, 200 West Michigan Street, Grayling, Michigan, 49738

Crawford County Clerk’s Office
County Government Office

Address: 200 W Michigan Ave, Grayling, MI 49738, United States
Phone: 989-344-3200

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *