Lookup Public Records in Washington CountyMaryland. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Washington County, Maryland

Washington County is located in the western part of the state of Maryland. It was formed in September 6, 1776; the county is one of three Maryland counties recognized by the Appalachian Regional Commission as being part of Appalachia. Washington County was the first county in the United States to be named for the Revolutionary War general (and later President) George Washington. Hagerstown is the largest city in the county and also the county seat. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a population of approximately 147,430 people and a total area of 467 square miles, of which 9.6 square miles is water and 458 square miles is land. Washington County borders the following counties: Fulton County, Pennsylvania, to the northwest; Allegany County to the west; Morgan County, West Virginia, to the southwest; Berkeley County, West Virginia, to the south; Jefferson County, West Virginia, to the south; Loudoun County, Virginia, to the southeast; Frederick County to the east; and Franklin County, Pennsylvania, to the northeast.

The Washington County Clerk of the Circuit Court is charged with the responsibility of maintaining all public records in the county. In addition to maintaining public records, the clerk also marriage licenses, keeps business records, and performs civil marriage ceremonies. The office of the clerk maintains the following records: mortgages, deeds, powers of attorney, corporations, wills and name changes, assignments and releases, liens, and fixture filing/UCC filings.

Records maintained by the clerk can be accessed by visiting the clerk’s office in person; you will be required to present a written request at 24 Summit Avenue, Hagerstown, MD 21740. Some of the records that can be obtained from the clerk’s office include: Land Records (1776 through the current date), Plat Records (1776 through the current date), and Miscellaneous Records. Alternatively, you can do a public records search online by visiting the Washington County Clerk of the Circuit Court Website.

Washington County, Maryland

Located at the northern and southern borders of Maryland, Washington County is 467 square miles in area, with less than 10 of that being water. It is bordered by Fulton County, Pennsylvania to the northwest, Allegany County to the west, Morgan County, West Virginia to the southwest, Berkeley and Jefferson Counties of West Virginia to the south, Loudoun County, Virginia to the southeast, Frederick County to the east and Franklin County, Pennsylvania to the northeast. Approximately 149,588 people lived in the county at the time of the 2013 census. There are 20 different zip codes in Washington County, with the most populous being 21740 and 21742, which account for over 63% of the population within the county.

Washington County Officials Information

In Maryland, the Court Clerk serves the roles of Register of Deeds and County Clerk as well, filling all responsibilities.
Court Clerk: Dennis J. Weaver
24 Summit Avenue, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Phone: 301-733-8660
Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:30 am – 4:30 pm
The Court Clerk handles all personal legal documents, including birth and death records, divorce and marriage records and military discharges. These documents are considered private and can only be requested by those that they are about. The Court Clerk is also responsible for mortgages, land deeds, conveyances and plats. These documents are considered public records and can be requested by anyone at any time. These documents are not available online, but they can be requested in person, during normal business hours.

The Assessment Office is responsible for taxable valuations related to personal and real property within the county.

Assessment Office:

301 W. Preston St. Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: 410-767-1184
Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:30 am – 4:30 pm
Closed legal and county holidays

Tax records including GIS maps, survey information, property searches, tax equalization and revenue commissions can be found with the Assessment Office. These documents are considered public record and the information in them can be found via in person request or through a search on the online portal.

Washington County Court Records Information

All court cases are considered public record once they have been completed and information has been filed (with few exceptions). These records can be requested via the online portal or requests can be made in person, during normal business hours.

Washington County Marriage License Office
In order to obtain a marriage license in Washington County, the applicants must apply together, in person, at the County Clerk’s office. Both parties must present their state-issued picture ID, military ID, or passport, and know their social security number
State Law:Marriage – Family Law, Title 2
All State Statutes: Information is online at the State Website
Office:Washington County Marriage License
Location:24 Summit Avenue, Hagerstown, Maryland, 21740

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *