Lookup Public Records in Spencer CountyKentucky. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Spencer County, Kentucky Overview

Spencer County is located in the U.S. state of Kentucky. The county was formed in 1824 and named after Spier Spencer, a military captain killed at the Battle of Tippecanoe. The county seat is Taylorsville. According to the U.S. Census Bureau of 2013, the county has a population of approximately 17,637 people. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 192 square miles of which 187 square miles is land and 5.0 square miles is water. Spencer County borders the following counties: Shelby County to the north; Anderson County to the east; Nelson County to the south; Bullitt County to the west and Jefferson County to the northwest. Spencer County has seven zip codes. The zip codes are 40008, 40013, 40023, 40046, 40047, 40065 and 40071. The most populated zip code is 40071.

Spencer County Clerk’s Office Information

Spencer County Clerk’s Office is responsible for vehicle registration, titling, renewals, issuing handicap placards, recording land and legal documents, issuing marriage licenses, notary bonds, fishing and hunting licenses, and collecting delinquent taxes. The Clerk is also responsible for voter registration and holding all elections in the county. Land records include condominiums, corporate records, deeds, fixture and other UCC filings, land records fees, land use, restrictions, liens, mortgages, plats, releases, and wills. Records can be assessed by visiting the County Clerk’s office in person during office hours or online via the through the ecclix.com website.

Applicants for the inspection of public records shall be advised of the availability of the records requested for inspection and shall be notified in writing not later than three (3) working days after receipt of an application for inspection of any reason the records requested are not available for public inspection.

Copies of written material in the public records of this agency shall be furnished to any person requesting them on payment of a fee of (.50) cents a page; payable in advance. Copies will be mailed upon written request with advance payment, including postage.

The mailing address of the Spencer County Clerk’s Office is:

P.O. Box 544
Taylorsville, KY 40071

The physical address of the Spencer County Clerk’s Office is:

Spencer County Courthouse
2 West Main,
Taylorsville, KY 40071
Phone: (502) 477-3215
Fax: (502) 477-3216
Office Hours: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Thursday, 8:00 a.m. – 6:30 p.m. Last Saturday of each month, 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Lynn Hesselbrock is the Spencer County Clerk. She can be contacted at (502) 477-3215.

Spencer County Marriage License Office
In order to obtain a marriage license in Spencer County, the applicants must apply together, in person, at the County Clerk’s office. Both parties must present their state-issued picture ID, military ID, or passport, and know their social security number
State Law:Marriage – Title XXXV, Chapter 402
All State Statutes: Information is online at the State Website
Office:Spencer County Marriage License
Location:2 West Main Street, Taylorsville, Kentucky, 40071

Spencer County Clerk’s Office

Address: 2 West Main Street, Taylorsville, Ky 40071
Phone: (502) 477-3215

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *