Lookup Public Records in Powell CountyKentucky. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Powell County, Kentucky Overview

Powell County is located in the U.S. state of Kentucky. The county was formed in 1852 and named after Lazarus Whitehead Powell, the nineteenth Governor of Kentucky (1851–55). The county seat is Stanton. According to the U.S. Census Bureau of 2013, the county has a population of approximately 12,494 people. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 180 square miles of which 179 square miles is land and 1.1 square miles is water. Powell County borders the following counties: Montgomery County to the north; Menifee County to the northeast; Wolfe County to the southeast; Lee County to the south; Estill County to the southwest and Clark County to the northwest. Powell County has four zip codes. The zip codes are 40312, 41360, 40376 and 40380. The most populated zip code is 40380.

Powell County Clerk’s Office Information

The Powell County Clerk issues marriage licenses, motor vehicle licenses, fishing and hunting licenses, registers voters, and conducts all elections in the county. The County Clerk is also responsible for recording and preserving land and legal records which includes deeds, condominiums, corporate records, fixture and other UCC filings, land records fees, land use restrictions, liens, mortgages, plats, releases, and wills. The County Clerk also provides Notary Public services and assists the PVA and Sheriff in the notification and collection of delinquent property taxes.

The mailing address of the Powell County Clerk’s Office is:

P.O. Box 193
Stanton, KY 40380

The physical address of the Powell County Clerk’s Office is:

525 Washington Street,
Room 109
Stanton, KY 40380
Email: rhondaabarnett@gmail.com
Phone: (606) 663-6444
Fax: (606) 663-6406
Office Hours: Monday and Friday, 9:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. Tuesday and Wednesday, 9:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Thursday, 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon.

Rhonda A. Barnett is the Powell County Clerk. She can be contacted at (606) 663-6444 or emailed at rhondaabarnett@gmail.com

Powell County Marriage License Office
In order to obtain a marriage license in Powell County, the applicants must apply together, in person, at the County Clerk’s office. Both parties must present their state-issued picture ID, military ID, or passport, and know their social security number
State Law:Marriage – Title XXXV, Chapter 402
All State Statutes: Information is online at the State Website
Office:Powell County Marriage License
Location:525 Washington Street, Stanton, Kentucky, 40380

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *