Wabaunsee County KS

Lookup Public Records in Wabaunsee County, Kansas. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Wabaunsee County, Kansas Overview

Wabaunsee County is located in the state of Kansas. The county was formed in 1859 and named after Chief Waubonsie. The county seat is Alma. As of 2013, the county has a population of 7051. The county has a total area of 800 square miles, 794 square miles of which is land, and 5.3 square miles is water. The county consists of 14 ZIP codes, with ZIP code 66401 recorded as the one with the largest population. Wabaunsee County borders the following counties: Pottawatomie County, Kansas to the north; Lyon County, Kansas to the south; Shawnee County, Kansas to the east; Geary County, Kansas to the west; Riley County, Kansas to the northwest; Morris County, Kansas to the southwest, and; Osage County, Kansas to the southeast.

Wabaunsee County Clerk Information

Functions of the County Clerk’s Office include, but not limited to

  • County Election Officer
  • Payroll
  • Financial Reports
  • Prepare Real Estate and Personal Property Tax Rolls
  • Maintain Tax Accounts
  • Secretary to the Board of County Commissioners
  • Keep Official Records of the Board of County Commissioners

The County Clerk has been designated as the Freedom of Information Officer for Wabaunsee County by Resolution 2000-27. Information is available at the County Clerk’s office regarding access to public records. The Kansas Open Records Act guarantees any person the right to inspect and obtain copies of all public records, unless the records are closed due to specific provisions of the law. Within three business days from the date of request a County agency must either:

  • Provide requested records
  • Inform the requester when they will be provided: or
  • State why the records cannot be provided

    Commonly requested records include:


    • Inventory Content Sheets
    • Sales Information on Properties
    • Parcel Identification Maps
    • Personal Property Renditions

    County Clerk

    • County Commission Minutes
    • Registered Voters
    • Township Annual Reports
    • Budget Information

    County Treasurer

    • Tax Statements
    • Tax Receipts

    Register of Deeds

    • Deeds
    • Plats


    • Accident Reports
    • Theft Reports

    Below is the physical address of the County Clerk:

    Jennifer A. Savage, County Clerk
    215 Kansas, PO Box 278
    Alma, KS 66401
    Phone: 785-765-2421
    Fax: 785-765-3704
    Hours: Open Monday thru Friday, 8 am to 4:30 pm

    Details about the District Court:

    Angela Anderson, Clerk of the District Court
    215 Kansas Avenue, PO Box 278
    Alma, KS 66401
    Phone: 785.765.2406
    Fax: 785.765.2487
    Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday – Friday

    Wabaunsee County Marriage License Office
    In order to obtain a marriage license in Wabaunsee County, the applicants must apply together, in person, at the County Clerk’s office. Both parties must present their state-issued picture ID, military ID, or passport, and know their social security number
    State Law:Marriage – Section 23, Art. 1 and Premarital Agreements – Section 23, Art. 24
    All State Statutes: Information is online at the State Website
    Office:Wabaunsee County Marriage License
    Location:215 Kansas – Po Box 278, Alma, Kansas, 66401

    Wabaunsee Register-Deeds Department
    County Government Office

    Address: 215 Kansas Ave, Alma, KS 66401, United States
    Phone: 785-765-3822

  • Please Share Your Review of This Office

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *