Lookup Public Records in Shawnee County, Kansas. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Shawnee County, Kansas

Shawnee County is located in northeast Kansas. The county was formed in August 25, 1855, and named after the Shawnee tribe of Native Americans. Its most populous city, Topeka, is the state capital and county seat; other cities in the county include Auburn, Rossville, Silver Lake, and Willard. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a population of approximately 177,934, making it the third-most populous county in Kansas, and a total area of 556 square miles, of which 12 square miles is water and 544 square miles is land. Shawnee County borders Jackson County on the north, Osage County on the south, Douglas County on the east, Jefferson County on the north and east, Pottawatomie County on the west, and Wabaunsee County on the west.

Cynthia “Cyndi” Beck has been the Shawnee County Clerk since 1997, as of 2015. She is charged with the following responsibilities:

  • Secretary to Board of County Commissioners
  • Keeper of the Official County Seal
  • Administrator of county payroll
  • Certifies tax unit boundaries maps
  • Maintains and updates real estate ownership files
  • Reviews budgets for all County taxing entities
  • Responsible for central accounts payable for all county offices

The Shawnee County Register of Deeds is responsible for maintaining the following records: deeds, mortgages, plats, surveys, assignments of mortgage, releases of mortgage, federal tax liens, Dtate of Kansas Division of Employment liens, easements, powers of attorney, military discharges, affidavits, and death certificates.

Documents available for search by the public include mortgage and deed records dating from 1988 to present. They can be accessed through public access computers at the Register of Deeds’ office at 200 SE 7th Street, Room 108, Topeka, Kansas 66603, during office hours (8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.). Mortgage and deed records dating from 1988 to present can be accessed by doing a public records search online through the Shawnee County Register of Deeds Website for a fee of $5.95 per search. A monthly subscriber fee is also available. Mortgage and deed records prior to 1988 are available in Grantee/Grantor Indexes.

Shawnee County Clerk’s Office

Address: 200 SE 7th St #107, Topeka, KS 66603, United States
Phone: 785-251-4155

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *