Lookup Public Records in Riley County, Kansas. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Riley County, Kansas

Riley County is located in the state of Kansas. The county was created on August 25, 1855, and named after Mexican-American War general Bennet Riley. The largest city and county seat is Manhattan. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a population of approximately 71,115 people and a total area of 622 square miles, of which 12 square miles is water and 610 square miles is land. Riley County borders the following counties: Marshall County to the northeast, Pottawatomie County to the east, Wabaunsee County to the southeast, Geary County to the south, Clay County to the west, and Washington County to the northwest.

The Riley County Clerk’s Office handles a number of administrative duties for Riley County. These duties include:

  • Responsible for keeping official records of the Board of County Commissioners
  • Serves as the County Election Officer
  • Administrator of county payroll
  • Prepares Riley County budget
  • Maintains inventory for Riley County
  • Keeps real estate ownership records
  • Prepares tax roll for county

The Register of Deeds office is required to record all documents submitted by the public which are qualified to be recorded and maintain an up-to-date and accurate set of indices which show the correct ownership of land in the entire county.

Copies of land records maintained by the Register of Deeds can be obtained through public access terminals or Subscription Access. Remote access subscription service includes the following:

  • Immediate access to all land records dating back to 1853
  • Access to all land records, including images of land indexes and documents
  • Ability to search land/ownership records
  • Ability to print copies
  • Images of more than 1176 platted subdivisions

The charges are $100 per year licensing fee and $.50 per page for copies. For additional information on how you can subscribe, contact the Riley County Register of Deeds office through 785-537-6340 or e-mail. When obtaining copies of public records through public access terminals, the Register of Deeds’ staff will guide you through the process of obtaining the records you want.

Riley County Marriage License Office
In order to obtain a marriage license in Riley County, the applicants must apply together, in person, at the County Clerk’s office. Both parties must present their state-issued picture ID, military ID, or passport, and know their social security number
State Law:Marriage – Section 23, Art. 1 and Premarital Agreements – Section 23, Art. 24
All State Statutes: Information is online at the State Website
Office:Riley County Marriage License
Location:100 Courthouse Plaza, Manhattan, Kansas, 66502

Riley County Register of Deeds
County Government Office

Address: 110 County Courthouse Sidewalk, Manhattan, KS 66502, United States
Phone: 785-537-6340

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *