Lookup Public Records in Decatur CountyIndiana. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Decatur County, Indiana Overview

Decatur County is located in the U.S. state of Indiana. The county was formed in 1821 and named after Commodore Stephen Decatur, a hero of the War of 1812. The county seat is Greensburg. According to the U.S. Census Bureau of 2013; the county has a population of approximately 26,277 people. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 373.32 square miles, of which 372.57 square miles is land and 0.76 square miles is water. Decatur County borders the following counties: Rush County to the north; Franklin County to the east; Ripley County to the southeast; Jennings County to the south; Bartholomew County to the west; and Shelby County to the northwest. Decatur County has one zip code. The zip code is 46733.

Decatur County Clerk’s Office Information

The duties and responsibilities of the Decatur County Clerk are broad and varied. The Clerk administers the official court records for all court cases with jurisdiction in that county. Cases include criminal cases, traffic cases, and civil cases. Criminal cases include felonies, misdemeanors, and miscellaneous criminals Traffic cases include infractions, local ordinance violations, and exempted ordinance violations. Civil cases include torts, civil plenary cases, protective orders, miscellaneous civil, reciprocal support, small claims, domestic relations, mental health, adoption, supervised and unsupervised estates, guardianships, trusts, children in need of services (CHINS), juvenile paternity, juvenile delinquency, juvenile status, etc.

The Clerk also prepares the Court’s permanent historical records. The Clerk is generally responsible for processing marriage applications and issue marriage licenses. Besides, the Clerk is also responsible for preparing notary certifications, register bail agents, and process applications for license for distress sale, passports, hunting and fishing licenses.

The Clerk keeps records of certified breathalyzer operators, judgments including State income and unemployment tax warrants, bonds of numerous public officials, and other miscellaneous records.

Another responsibility of the Clerk is to process and issue documents for court cases. Civil documents include summons, subpoenas, garnishment orders, proceedings supplemental, writs of execution or attachment, orders of sale, body attachments, protective orders, and so on. Probate documents include publications for newspapers regarding the opening and closing of estates, notification of heirs, wills, inventories, inheritance tax orders and final reports. The Clerk collects, distributes and reconciles monies related to court cases and is subject to regular audits by State Board of Accounts. The Clerk is also responsible for all court costs, judgment money and many other fees pertaining to civil cases. The Clerk also collects fees and fines for city, county, and state, deferral and pre-trial diversion fees, and extradition and restitution fees for criminal misdemeanor and infraction cases.

The physical address of the Decatur County Clerk’s Office is:
150 Courthouse Square, Suite 244
Greensburg, IN 47240
Phone: (812) 663-8223
Fax: (812) 662-6627
Email: clerk@decaturcounty.in.gov
Office Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Adina Roberts is the Clerk of the Decatur County. She may be contacted at (812) 663-8223 or emailed at clerk@decaturcounty.in.gov.

Decatur County Marriage License Office
In order to obtain a marriage license in Decatur County, the applicants must apply together, in person, at the County Clerk’s office. Both parties must present their state-issued picture ID, military ID, or passport, and know their social security number
State Law:Marriage – Title 31, Article 11 and Uniform Premarital Agreement Act – Title 31, Article 11, Chapter 3
All State Statutes: Information is online at the State Website
Office:Decatur County Marriage License
Location:150 courthouse Square, Greensburg, Indiana, 47240

Decatur County Clerk’s Office
County Government Office

Address: 150 courthouse Sq #244, Greensburg, IN 47240, United States
Phone: 812-663-8223

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *