Lookup Public Records in Jackson CountyGeorgia. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Jackson County Georgia

Jackson County is located in the state of Georgia. The county was created on February 11, 1796, after being split off from part of Franklin County. Jackson County was named after James Jackson, Revolutionary War Lieutenant Colonel, Congressman, Senator and Governor. Jefferson is the largest city in the county and also the county seat. Other cities in the county include Arcade, Braselton, Commerce, Hoschton, Maysville, Nicholson, Pendergrass and Talmo. According to the 2010 U.S. Census, the county has a population of approximately 60,485 people and a total area of 343 square miles, of which 340 square miles is land and 3.4 square miles is water. Jackson County borders the following counties: Banks County to the north, Madison County to the east, Clarke County to the southeast, Oconee County to the south, Gwinnett County to the southwest, Barrow County to the west, and Hall County to the northwest.

Jackson County Clerk of Superior Court is the official county recorder. Records maintained by the clerk’s office include but are not limited to state, superior, civil and criminal records, juvenile court, adoptions, deeds, real estate records, and military discharges. Deed records date back to 1796 when the County was first established, real estate records date back to 1988, and the office is currently imaging criminal records, civil records, and real estate records so that copies will be more readily available to the public.

Public records in the county can be accessed by doing a public records search online through the Jackson County Clerk Website. Since 1999, the clerk’s office has been connected statewide with the Georgia Superior Court Clerk Cooperative Authority; the public can therefore check all counties from one location. You can also visit the clerk’s office at 5000 Jackson Parkway, Jefferson, GA 30549. Office hours are Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. All records maintained by the clerk’s office are now on computer with public search terminals available for public use.

Jackson County Marriage License Office
In order to obtain a marriage license in Jackson County, the applicants must apply together, in person, at the County Clerk’s office. Both parties must present their state-issued picture ID, military ID, or passport, and know their social security number
State Law:Marriage – Title 19, Chapter 3 and Domestic Relations – Sections 19-3-62 to 19-3-64
All State Statutes: Information is online at the State Website
Office:Jackson County Marriage License
Location:85 Washington Street, Jefferson, Georgia, 30549

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *