Lookup Public Records in New Haven CountyConnecticut. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

New Haven County Overview

New Haven County is a county in the south-central part of the U.S. state of Connecticut. As of the 2010 census, the population was 862,477 making it the third-most populous county in Connecticut. Two of the state’s largest cities, New Haven (2nd) and Waterbury (5th), are part of New Haven County. County governments were abolished in Connecticut in 1960. New Haven County is a group of towns on a map, and has no specific government authority. The county Sheriff system was abolished by voters and replaced by State Judicial Marshals in 2000. As a result, the state judicial system in New Haven County has three judicial districts: New Haven, Ansonia-Milford, and Waterbury. Following the process of unification of New Haven Colony with Connecticut Colony in 1664-65, cohesion could be improved. New Haven County was constituted by an act of the Connecticut General Court on May 10, 1666, along with Hartford County, Fairfield County, and New London County. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 862 square miles, of which 605 square miles is land and 258 square miles is water. It is the second-largest county in Connecticut by total area. The terrain is mostly flat near the coast, with low hills defining the rest of the area, rising significantly only in the north of the county. The highest elevation is close to the northernmost point in the county, found at two areas of approximately 1,050 feet above sea level in the town of Wolcott. The lowest point is sea level. Noteworthy geographic landmarks include Mount Carmel (“Sleeping Giant”), West Rock and East Rock. The county is bound to the south by Long Island Sound, to the north by Hartford County, Middlesex County lies to the east, Fairfield to the west and Litchfield to the northwest. A portion of nationally protected Steward B. McKinney National Wildlife Refuge lies within the county lines. Forty-one zip codes are deployed across the county, the largest of which is 06516.

New Haven County Clerk Information

The City Clerk is Michael B. Smart
200 Orange Street, Room 202
New Haven, CT 06510

The office:

  • Has custody of all public documents
  • Records and processes land records
  • Records notaries

New Haven County Records

Online tax forms:

The Tax Assessor is Alex Pullen:
165 Church Street
New Haven, CT 06510

The mission of the Assessor’s office is to discover, list and value all real estate, business personal property, and motor vehicles to establish a fair and equitable distribution of the local property tax burden.

The Tax Collector is Maurine Villani:
165 Church Street, 1st Floor
New Haven, CT 06510

The City of New Haven has a full-time tax collector that works under the administrative direction of the state Office of Policy and Management and the Controller. The primary responsibility of this position is the billing for and collection of all tax money due the city.

Properties and paying taxes online:

As is the case with all eight of Connecticut’s counties, there is no county government and no county seat. As an area, it is only a geographical point of reference. In Connecticut, the cities and towns are responsible for all local governmental activities including fire and rescue, schools, and snow removal; in a few cases, neighboring towns will share certain resources.

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *