Lookup Public Records in Miller County, Arkansas. Including Vital Birth and Death Records, Deeds, Probate, Property Records, Mortgages, Liens, Judgments, Marriage Licenses, Voter Registrar, Payroll, Military Discharges.

Miller County, Arkansas Overview

Miller County is a county located in the southwestern corner of the U.S. state of Arkansas. As of the 2010 census, the population was 43,462. The county seat, and largest community is Texarkana. Miller County is part of the Texarkana, TX-AR, Metropolitan Statistical Area. When first formed, Miller County was Arkansas’s sixth county, established on April 1, 1820, and named for James Miller, the first governor of the Arkansas Territory. Additionally, Miller County was the first of the state’s counties to be formed upon the creation of the Arkansas Territory. The first five — Arkansas, Lawrence, Clark, Hempstead and Pulaski — were formed during Arkansas’s days as part of the Missouri Territory. The county was abolished in 1838, and later recreated on December 22, 1874 from a portion of neighboring Lafayette County. Despite its proximity to Texas (which has no state personal income tax), Miller County residents are not exempt from Arkansas’s state personal income tax unless they reside within the city limits of Texarkana. Miller County is also one of only two counties in Arkansas (along with Little River County) to be separated from all surrounding counties in the state by water — the Red River, in this case. Miller County is a total of 638 square miles, 626 is land and the remaining 12 is water. The county is bordered by two Texas counties, Bowie to the west and Cass to the southwest. Miller also enjoys the company of two neighboring Louisiana counties, Caddo Parish to the south and Bossier Parish to the southeast. Remaining bordering counties are in Arkansas, Little River to the north, Hempstead to the northeast, and Lafayette to the east. The largest zip code in use in the county is 71854, and four additional zip codes are used in the county.

Miller County Clerk Information

The Miller County Courthouse address is:
400 Laurel Street
Texarkana, AR 71854

Stephanie Harvin is the Miller County Clerk, and she can be reached at her office address:
400 Laurel Street, Suite 105
Texarkana, AR 71854

The County Clerk is responsible for the daily operations of the County Clerk Office, Quorum Court Secretary, Budget Account Figures, and delegating the responsibilities of the office. The County Clerk Chief Deputy is responsible for the daily payment of county invoices, in charge of the county probate files, in charge of tax work, Equalization Board Secretary, and assisting at the counter with marriage licenses. The County Clerk Deputy is responsible for all county payroll procedures and for all voter registration records and assists at the counter with marriage licenses.

Mary Pankey is the circuit clerk and her contact information follows:
400 Laurel Street
Suite 109
Texarkana, AR 71854

The Circuit Clerk is the clerk of the circuit, domestic relations, and juvenile court and usually acts as the ex-officio recorder of the county. The Circuit Clerks office prepares summons, warrants, orders, judgments, and injunctions authorized by the circuit court for delivery by the county sheriff. This office also maintains a file of all cases pending in either court, as well as a record of all past court cases and their disposition. In addition, the circuit clerk keeps a list of all prospective jurors. The Chief Deputy helps maintain the records of all proceedings of the circuit courts and to prepare the dockets for these courts. In addition, the clerk keeps a list of all prospective jurors. The Deputy Clerk is responsible for recording deeds, mortgages, liens and surety bonds, and many other orders and instruments which involve property within the county.

Miller County Records

Real estate recording fees and filing fees can be found here

Mary L. Stuart is the Miller County Tax Assessor. Mrs. Stuart’s contact information follows, and she is also the County Collector:
Miller County Courthouse
400 Laurel Street
Suite 100
Texarkana, AR 71854

The duty of the county assessor is to appraise and assess all real property between the first Monday of January and the first of July, and all personal property between the first Monday in January and the thirty-first of May. The real estate records are available for research by the public. Online access to the real estate records is available at

Miller County is required to conduct a countywide reappraisal every 5 years. Personal property is assessed annually by the property owner. The time frame to assess personal property is from January 2 to May 31. You can assess personal property in person, by phone, by mail or by fax. May 31 is the deadline to assess personal property. By state law, a 10% penalty is applied to property not assessed by the deadline.

Deeds and title searches can be performed at the circuit court and online at:
Miller County Circuit Court
400 Laurel St, Suite 109
Texarkana, AR 71854

Miller County Marriage License Office
In order to obtain a marriage license in Miller County, the applicants must apply together, in person, at the County Clerk’s office. Both parties must present their state-issued picture ID, military ID, or passport, and know their social security number
State Law:Marriage – Title 9, Ch. 11 and Premarital agreements – Title 9, Ch. 11, Subchapter 4
All State Statutes:Information is online at the State Website
Office:Miller County Marriage License
Location:400 Laurel Street Suite 105, Texarkana, Arkansas, 71854

Miller County Clerk
County Government Office

Address: 400 Laurel Street , Suite 105 , Texarkana, AR 71854
Phone: 870-774-1501

Please Share Your Review of This Office

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *